Gratitude Journaling and Giving Thanks

I admit it: I got caught up in the fad of gratitude journaling five years ago. I had just been dumped by a man I thought I loved, and I didn’t know how to get out of my negative thoughts. The universe must have heard me because when I mentioned to a friend I wanted to start a gratitude journal, she opened a gift bag of Hallmark journals she had brought just for me. Nearly every evening I wrote down three things for which I was grateful. Most days it was just fresh coffee and delicious food. But some days I would surprise myself by remembering a smile on the subway, a conversation with a friend, or hearing from a client who had just received a dream job offer.

Nearly a year later, I couldn’t believe how much better I felt about life. It was as if a weight had been lifted from my shoulders. I still felt hurt, but the act of journaling caused me to think about all the good things I had going for myself.

There is science behind the practice of gratitude. Gratitude is not only the feeling after receiving help from others, but also a feeling created by “focusing on and appreciating the positive aspects of life,” according to a review article from AM Wood, et al. Keeping a gratitude journal has been shown to increase gratitude, positive moods, optimism about the future, and even lead to better sleep!

Getting the benefits of the practice can be easier than you think: Writing for just 10-15 minutes per day, once a week for two weeks can bring on the positive effects. Here is a primer to get started.

How thankful are you feeling these days? One thing I loved most about living abroad during Thanksgiving was sharing the customs with my international friends. Turkey wasn’t always feasible – it usually didn’t fit into small, European ovens. And pumpkin pie filling from a can is not readily available in Germany, but making it from scratch isn’t too hard. My favorite tradition, though, is giving thanks out loud. It’s a real hoot to ask others to do it, too, especially if they have never done it before. Giving thanks out loud creates a space of generosity, forgiveness, and openness that I treasure.

So, I ask you, whether or not you celebrate Thanksgiving – or even eat turkey (I no longer do) – what are you thankful for? How might you keep a gratitude journal to savor the positive aspects of your life? Leave a comment below!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.